FAQ: How do I detach volumes?

How do I detach volumes?   Volumes cannot be manually detached from an instance through the Customer Portal, regardless of whether the instance is running or stopped. A volume is automatically detached when its associated instance is deleted. However, deleting the instance does not delete the volume. The volume remains in your account, where you